ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

The ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award recognises exceptional research achievements in applied and translational neuroscience.

ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology AwardThe award is granted each year, alternating between pre-clinical and clinical research. The 2024 award is in clinical research.

The winner is awarded with a cash prize of EUR 10,000 which is conferred upon the acceptance for publication of a review article in European Neuropsychopharmacology.

The winner is also honoured with a commemorative statuette and certificate and an invitation to present the award plenary lecture during the ECNP Congress.

In addition, the winner of the award is asked to join the Award Committee for the year when the next winner of his/her area (i.e. pre-clinical or clinical research) is selected. The winner may also be asked for an interview, to be published in ECNP communication channels.

Winner 2024
Elias Eriksson, 2024 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology AwardElias Eriksson, Sweden, is the recipient of the 2024 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award, in recognition of his achievements in advancing the science of serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) for the treatment of panic disorder, premenstrual dysphoric disorder and depression.
Read the press release

Who is eligible?
Residents of European countries* who are affiliated with a university, research institution or hospital, and whose research originates primarily in Europe.
Members of the ECNP Executive Committee, the chair of the Scientific Programme Committee and the members of the Award Committee are not eligible until three years after their term.
*The 46 countries of the Council of Europe, plus Israel.

How to nominate a candidate
The following electronic documents were requested to be submitted:

  • A short statement (one page), explaining the significance, innovative value and core theme(s) of the applicant’s contribution to neuropsychopharmacology
  • A summary curriculum vitae, including personal details, education and academic degrees, appointments, research experience, prizes, awards and honours, membership of professional organisations, editorial boards, publication lists, etc.
  • Total number of peer-reviewed publications
  • Five best papers
  • H-index
  • Number of citations 
  • Self-nominations are also welcome  

Selection of the winner
The award winner is selected by the ECNP Award Committee. The award cannot be shared and cannot be won more than once by the same individual.

Award ceremony
The award will be presented at the 37th ECNP Congress 2024

Previous winners
View here previous ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award winners.