ECNP Lifetime Achievement Award

ECNP Lifetime Achievement AwardThe ECNP Lifetime Achievement Award recognises individuals who have made career-long contributions to building the field of applied and translational neuroscience in Europe, at the national or international level.

The winner(s) is honoured with a commemorative statuette and certificate and an invitation to the ECNP Congress.

The winner(s) may also be asked for an interview, to be published in ECNP communication channels.

ECNP Lifetime Achievement Award winners 2024Winners 2024

  • Jan van Ree, The Netherlands
    For his outstanding scientific achievements in neuropeptide, opioid, reward and addiction research and as a campaigner for translational brain science and mental health awareness across Europe.

  • Tomas Hökfelt, Sweden
    For his pioneering discoveries in neural systems, which have made breakthrough contributions to molecular neuroscience and led to the development of novel therapies in pain management, stress, and obesity.

Who is eligible?

How to nominate a candidateECNP Neuroscience Applied
The following documents were requested to be submitted:

  • A short statement (one page), explaining the significance and impact of the nominee’s contribution to the field of the applied and translational neuroscience
  • A summary curriculum vitae, including personal details, education and academic degrees, appointments, research experience, prizes, awards and honours, membership of professional organisations, editorial boards, publication lists, etc.
  • Self-nominations are also welcome. 

Selection of the winner(s)
The award winner(s) is selected by the ECNP Award Committee. Short-listed applicants may be asked to submit additional information before a final decision is taken.

The award cannot be shared and cannot be won more than once by the same individual. Nominees were informed about the decision before 1 May 2024. There will be no correspondence about the outcome.

Award ceremony
The award will be presented at the 37th ECNP Congress 2024.

Previous winners
View here previous ECNP Lifetime Achievement Award winners.