ECNP Rising Star Award

ECNP Rising Star AwardThe ECNP Rising Star Award honours up to three Early Career Scientists annually whose research in applied and translational neuroscience has the potential to advance the science, treatment and prevention of the brain.

The award winner(s) will be honoured with:

  • An unrestricted prize of EUR 2,000 and a commemorative certificate to be presented at the ECNP Congress
  • An invitation to the ECNP Congress with faculty benefits for travel and hotel

ECNP Rising Star Award winnersWinners 2023

  • Marieke Klein, The Netherlands
  • Juan Pablo Lopez, Sweden

Who is eligible?

  • Candidates must be nominated by an ECNP member. Self-nominations by early career ECNP members are allowed.
  • Candidates must be between 2-7 years after their terminal (Ph.D. or M.D.) degree with extensions for maternity, paternity, clinical training, and national service or long-term illness.
  • Candidates must be residents of a European country* and affiliated with a university, research institute or hospital, and whose research originates primarily in Europe.
    *The 46 countries of the Council of Europe, plus Israel.

How to nominate a candidate
The following electronic documents were requested to be submitted:

  • A summary curriculum vitae, including personal details, education and academic degrees, appointments, research experience, prizes, awards, membership of professional organisations, publication lists, etc.
  • A short statement with the candidate’s or nominator letter of motivation (max one page)
  • Total number of peer-reviewed publications
  • Five best papers
  • H-index
  • Number of citations 

Selection of the winner(s)ECNP early career scientists
The winner(s) will be appointed by the ECNP Executive Committee on recommendation of the ECNP Award Committee. The award cannot be shared and cannot be won more than once by the same individual.

Award Talk
The winner(s) will deliver an award talk at the 36th ECNP Congress 2023.

Previous winners
View here previous ECNP Rising Star Award winners.