Winner 2019: Inga Neumann, Germany

Inga NeumannBorn in East Germany, study of Biology at the Karl-Marx-University of Leipzig, GDR, PhD in Neurobiology on the release and physiological significance of oxytocin and vasopressin in the brain; postdoctoral HFSPO fellow at the University Medical School in Calgary, Canada, 1992-1994; Senior scientist at the Max-Planck-Institute of Psychiatry in Munich, 1994-2001; Heisenberg fellow of the DFG 1997-2001; Full Professor of Neurobiology and Animal Physiology at the University of Regensburg, Germany;
Research Focus on brain neuropeptides (oxytocin, vasopressin, CRF, NPS) and their role in social behaviours (maternal, aggressive, pair-bonding, social preference behaviours), and emotional as well as neuroendocrine stress responses (anxiety, depression, social fear; HPA axis) studying relevant animal models (rat, mouse).

Read the press release.