Winner 2015: Francesc Artigas, Spain

Francesc Artigas is Chair of the Department of Neurochemistry and Neuropoharmacology at the Insitut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques de Barcelona, from the Spanish Research Council (CSIC-IDIBAPS).

He is member of the executive committee of CIBERSAM, a Government-supported network of excellence groups on Mental Health in Spain, where he coordinates the Therapeutic Innovation Program. He leads a research group on Systems Neuropharmacology, composed by ~20 people. He has supervised 21 PhD students and 16 postdoctoral positions. He has served in Scientific Societies as member of the Executive Committee (ECNP), Councilor (CINP), President (Spanish Society for Neuroscience) and vice-President (Serotonin Club). He has been member of the Editorial Boards of several scientific journals.

His main interests are the study of brain circuits and neuronal elements involved in the therapeutic action of antidepressant and antipsychotic drugs. He has published over 200 papers in peer-reviewed journals, which have received more than 10.000 citations (h = 55). View the press release