Honorary members of ECNP

ECNP has awarded a select number of distinguished scientists with honorary membership to the College:

Joseph Zohar, Israel (1948-), admitted 2023
Professor of psychiatry at Tel Aviv University, Israel.

Hanns Hippius, Germany † (1925 - 2021)
Emeritus professor of psychiatry, University of Munich
Winner of the 1997 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

Alec Coppen, United Kingdom † (1923 - 2019), admitted 1996
Formerly of the Neuropsychiatric Research Unit , Medical Research Council, Epsom
Winner of the 1991 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

Jules Angst, Switzerland (1926- ), admitted 1999
Emeritus professor of psychiatry, University of Zurich

Paul A. J. Janssen † (1926 - 2003), admitted 1999
Founder of Janssen Pharmaceutica and the Janssen Research Foundation

Arvid Carlsson, Sweden † (1923 - 2018), admitted 2002
Emeritus professor of pharmacology, University of Gothenburg
Winner, with Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel, of the 2000 Nobel Prize for Medicine

Herman  M. van Praag, The Netherlands (1929 - ), admitted 2007
Emeritus professor of psychiatry and neuropsychology, University of Maastricht
Winner of the 1995 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

Stuart A. Montgomery, United Kingdom (1938 - ), admitted 2010
Emeritus professor of psychiatry, Imperial College London
Winner of the 1999 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

Jan M. van Ree, The Netherlands (1945 - ), admitted 2010
Emeritus professor of psychopharmacology, University of Utrecht
Officer of the Order of Orange-Nassau