ECNP announces its 2022-2025 Executive Committee

The European College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP) is pleased to announce the election of its new Executive Committee. Martien Kas of the Netherlands succeeds as ECNP President.

“This is an excellent line-up,” said Martien Kas. “It’s the youngest Executive Committee ECNP has ever elected. It’s a great team for taking the College forward to meet the rapidly changing landscape in European CNS treatment research. For the College to stay relevant, it has to continue to evolve and renew. The changes now confronting us in the post-Covid world make this even more essential.”

Martien Kas, professor of behavioural neuroscience at University of Groningen in the Netherlands, will lead ECNP for the next three years, working with the College’s twelve-member Executive Committee to set the College’s strategic course in the quickly evolving landscape of European brain research and a global environment that is forcing major changes to the way science is conducted and consumed – and to how scientific societies operate.

“ECNP is unique in the brain field in covering the entire pathway of treatment development, from fundamental research to the clinic,” says Kas. The challenge has never been greater. Not only are disorders of the brain amongst the most prevalent and burdensome human diseases, affecting tens of millions of Europeans every year, but the science behind them is unusually complex. Co-ordination across disciplines and across the region is critical. ECNP was founded as a platform for connect resources and combining efforts. As the field continues to change, we’ll be looking at how ECNP can continue to fulfil this role in the most effective way possible, building the future of neuroscience applied research together.”

The other Officer-level members to have been elected are:

  • Andreas Reif, Germany, chair of the Department of Psychiatry, Psychosomatics and Psychotherapy at the University Hospital Frankfurt am Main, is President-elect.

  • Elisabeth Binder, Germany, director and scientific member at the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry in Munich, is Vice-president.

  • Gitte Moos Knudsen, Denmark, professor of neurobiology and chair of the Neurobiology Research Unit at Copenhagen University Hospital, is Past president.

  • Brenda Penninx, the Netherlands, is professor of psychiatric epidemiology and vice-chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the Amsterdam University Medical Centre, is Treasurer.

  • Suzanne Dickson, Sweden, professor of physiology/neuroendocrinology at the University of Gothenburg, is Secretary.

In addition there are six Councillors:

  • David Baldwin, United Kingdom, professor of psychiatry at the University of Southampton.

  • Paolo Brambilla, Italy, professor of psychiatry in the Department of Pathophysiology and Transplantation at the University of Milan.

  • Iria Grande, Spain, researcher in the Department of Psychiatry and Psychology at the Hospital Clínic, Barcelona.

  • Iiris Hovatta, Finland, professor in the Department of Psychology and Logopedics at the University of Helsinki.

  • Marin Jukić, Sweden, senior research specialist in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm.

  • Marion Leboyer, France, professor of psychiatry and head of Translational Neuropsychiatry at the Mondor Institute for Biomedical Research – Université Paris Est Créteil.


ECNP is an independent scientific association whose mission is to advance the science of the brain, promote better treatment and enhance brain health. The annual ECNP Congress attracts some 5,000 scientists and clinicians from across the world to discuss the latest advances in brain research in Europe’s largest meeting on brain science. More information about ECNP, its aims and activities, can be found at

Tom Parkhill
ECNP Press Office
Tel. +43 1 405 5734
Fax +43 1 405 5734-16