Trevor W Robbins

Trevor is Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, being elected to the Chair of Expt. Psychology (and Head of Department) at the University of Cambridge, U.K. from October 2002. He is a Fellow of the British Psychological Society (BPS) (1990), the Academy of Medical Sciences (2000), and the Royal Society (2005), the most prestigious U.K. science society. He was President of the British Association for Psychopharmacology (1994-1996) and the European Behavioural Pharmacology Society (1992-1994), winning the latter Society's inaugural Distinguished Scientist Award (2001). He co-shared the IPSEN FONDATION 'Neuronal Plasticity Prize' in 2005 and also gave that year the F. Kavli Distinguished International Lecture at the Society for Neuroscience meeting. He received the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award for 2011 from the American Psychological Association (shared with B.J. Everitt). He has published about 700 full papers or chapters, with an H index of about 150. He has co-edited seven books, most recently; Neurobiology of Addiction; New Vistas (OUP, 2010), Decision-making, Affect and Learning (OUP, 2011), and Cognitive Search (MIT Press 2012). Trevor edits Psychopharmacology (since 1980) and is an Advisory Editor for Science. He directs the University of Cambridge MRC/Wellcome Trust-funded 'Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute (BCNI)', the mission of which is to enhance translation from basic to clinical neuroscience. His interest in translation began with his co-invention of the CANTAB computerised neuropsychological battery, which is currently used in over 500 institutes and clinical centres world-wide. He stepped down as President of the British Neuroscience Association in 2011 and was made a CBE in the New Year's Honours list of the U.K. in 2012 "for services to medical research". In 2014 he was fortunate enough with S. Dehaene and G. Rizzolatti, to share the 'Brain Prize' of the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation, the most valuable in neuroscience, awarded to neuroscientists originating from Europe.