ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award

The ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award recognises exceptional research achievements in applied and translational neuroscience.

ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology AwardThe award is granted each year, alternating between pre-clinical and clinical research. The 2022 award is in clinical research.

The winner is awarded with a cash prize of EUR 10,000 which is conferred upon the acceptance for publication of a review article in European Neuropsychopharmacology.

The winner is also honoured with a commemorative statuette and certificate and an invitation to present the award plenary lecture during the ECNP Congress.

In addition, the winner of the award is asked to join the Award Committee for the year when the next winner of his/her area (i.e. pre-clinical or clinical research) is selected. The winner may also be asked for an interview, to be published in ECNP communication channels.

Winner 2022
ECNP is pleased to announce Marie Åsberg, Sweden as the recipient of the 2022 ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award, in recognition of her careerlong achievements in clinical pharmacology, and especially the science of depression.
Read the press release

Who is eligible?

How to nominate a candidate
The following electronic documents were requested to be submitted by e-mail:

  • A short statement (one page), explaining the significance, innovative value and core theme(s) of the applicant’s contribution to neuropsychopharmacology
  • A summary curriculum vitae, including personal details, education and academic degrees, appointments, research experience, prizes, awards and honours, membership of professional organisations, editorial boards, publication lists, etc.
  • Total number of peer-reviewed publications
  • Five best papers
  • H-index
  • Number of citations 

Selection of the winner
The award winner was selected by the ECNP Award Committee. The award cannot be shared and cannot be won more than once by the same individual.

Award ceremony
The award will be presented at the 35th ECNP Congress.

Previous winners
View here previous ECNP Neuropsychopharmacology Award winners.