The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is ECNP’s executive organ. It is charged with setting the organisation’s strategic agenda, planning its activities, representing it publicly and managing its funds and assets, subject to the final oversight of the General Assembly.

The Executive Committee consists of six officers – the president, vice- president, president-elect, past-president, secretary and treasurer – and a maximum of six councillors. Members sit for three-year terms, and can be re-elected a maximum of four times.

The Executive Committee meets four times a year. Seven voting members constitute a quorum.

For a list of members of past executive committees, click here.

Executive Committee 2016-2019

Arango  President
Celso Arango
Professor of Psychiatry
Hospital General Universitario Gregorio Marañón
Madrid, Spain
Guy Goodwin  Past-President 
Guy Goodwin
Professor of Psychiatry 
University of Oxford
United Kingdom 
Gitte Moos President-Elect 
Gitte Moos Knudsen
Professor of Neurobiology
Copenhagen University Hospital
Laurence Lanfumey Vice-President
Laurence Lanfumey
Centre for Psychiatry and Neuroscience
Hôpital de la Salpêtrière
Paris, France  
Vieta Treasurer
Eduard Vieta
Professor of Psychiatry
University of Barcelona
Martien Kas

Martien Kas
Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience 
University of Groningen
The Netherlands


Elisabeth Binder
Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry
Munich, Germany           


Damiaan Denys
Academic Medical Center Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands          

dickson Suzanne Dickson
The Sahlgrenska Academy of the University of Göteborg
Institute of Neuroscience and Physiology
Göteborg, Sweden
harmer Catherine Harmer
Department of Psychiatry
University of Oxford
Oxford, United Kingdom
pallanti Stefano Pallanti
Department of Neuroscience, Psychology, Drug Research and Child Health       
University of Florence
Florence, Italy
Gil rel=

Gil Zalsman, Israel 
Professor of Psychiatry
Tel Aviv University

Co-opt members

Mark J. Millan
Division of Psychopharmacology
Institut de Recherches Servier
Paris, France                     

dawson Gerry Dawson
Manor House
Department of Psychiatry
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Joop van Gerven Joop van Gerven
Research Director CNS
Centre for Human Drug Research
Leiden, The Netherlands  
Chair, Scientific Programme Committee  
Andreas Reif Andreas Reif – 32nd, 33rd, 34th ECNP Congress
Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Psychosomatic Medicine and Psychotherapy
University Hospital Frankfurt - Goethe University
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Editor-in-Chief, European Neuropsychopharmacology
Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg

Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg
University of Heidelberg
Medical Faculty Mannheim

Executive Director


Alexander Schubert