Keynote session

As the centrepiece of the keynote session on 17 September, the keynote lecture featured a world-renowned speaker who was especially invited to present on a topic of interest that should appeal to all congress participants.

The 2016 keynote lecture was presented by Kay Redfield Jamison, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, USA on ‘Mood Disorders and Creativity'.

The keynote session was followed by the welcome reception, where a buffet dinner will be served.


RedfieldKay Redfield Jamison is the Dalio Family Professor in Mood Disorders, Professor of Psychiatry at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and co-director of the Johns Hopkins Mood Disorders Center. She is also Honorary Professor of English at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland. She is co-author of the standard medical text on manic-depressive (bipolar) illness, which was chosen as the most outstanding book in biomedical sciences by the American Association of Publishers, and author of Touched with Fire, An Unquiet Mind, Night Falls Fast, Exuberance, and Nothing Was the Same. Dr. Jamison has written more than 125 scientific and clinical articles about mood disorders, suicide, creativity, and lithium. Her memoir, An Unquiet Mind, which chronicles her own experience with manic-depressive, or bipolar illness, was on The New York Times bestseller list for five months and translated into thirty languages. Night Falls Fast: Understanding Suicide was a national bestseller and selected by The New York Times as a Notable Book of 1999. Exuberance: The Passion for Life was selected by The Washington Post, The Seattle Times, and The San Francisco Chronicle as one of the best books of 2004 and by Discover magazine as one of the best science books of the year. Her most recent book, Nothing Was the Same, was chosen by The Washington Post as one of the best books of 2009. Dr. Jamison is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the recipient of numerous literary and scientific awards, including the Lewis Thomas Prize, the Sarnat Prize from the National Academy of Medicine, and a MacArthur Fellowship.